BETA / ACCESS

WoW Forever beta access and dates

A current reference for beta access, the planned level-30 test, signup, Battle.net installation, launch-only benefits, and the policies Blizzard has not yet published.

STATUS / FIRST-PARTY CHECK

The beta is planned, but not every rule is published.

Current first-party material places the beta start on September 17, 2026 and the launch on November 4. The beta end date conflicts across Blizzard sources, so this guide keeps both dates visible instead of inventing a resolution.

STARTSEP 172026 · planned
CAP30level · planned
CONFLICT21 / 22October · end date

The short version: the World of Warcraft: Forever beta is planned to start on September 17, 2026. On September 12, it was not yet running. Blizzard's current pre-purchase announcement and Battle.net product page say the beta is available through October 21, 2026, PST. The official @Warcraft roadmap image says September 17 to October 22. Blizzard has not resolved that one-day conflict or published an opening or closing time.

QUICK REFERENCE

Beta answer at a glance

The important answers are useful only when their evidence status stays attached.

Current beta answers
QuestionCurrent answerStatus
When does the beta start?September 17, 2026. The exact hour is not published.Confirmed
When does the beta end?October 21 in the current product and pre-purchase text. October 22 on the roadmap image.Conflict
What can I play?The roadmap says play up to level 30. It does not publish a beta roster.Planned
Who has guaranteed access?Skyborne Epic Pack, Warcraft Forever Collection, or physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition.Confirmed
Can I opt in?Blizzard documents an optional signup route that does not guarantee access. A working Forever form was not verified.Unverified
When does the full game open?November 4, 2026 at 3:00 p.m. PST.Confirmed
Do beta characters carry over?No Forever-specific wipe, retention, or transfer rule was located in the checked sources.Not announced

ACCESS / ELIGIBILITY

Access and eligibility

Edition benefits and a general signup route are different things.

Blizzard Support's World of Warcraft Alpha or Beta Access article lists three guaranteed routes:

  • Skyborne Epic Pack
  • Warcraft Forever Collection
  • Physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition

For a digital Epic Pack or Collection purchase, Support says Blizzard flags the purchasing account automatically. A physical Collector's Edition buyer receives a redeemable beta code by email at the address used for the Gear Store purchase. Support cannot grant beta access, replace a lost code, or help with a code redeemed on the wrong account.

Purchase or account state
Purchase or account stateBeta resultStatus
Skyborne Heroic PackSupport's guaranteed-beta list does not include Heroic. The product page gives Heroic access to Skyborne and the Zephras Isle starting experience.Not announced
Skyborne Epic PackGuaranteed beta access.Confirmed
Warcraft Forever CollectionGuaranteed beta access.Confirmed
Physical Collector's EditionGuaranteed beta access through the edition's redeemable code.Confirmed

Skyborne and the Zephras Isle starting experience require the Skyborne Heroic Pack or higher. That product rule does not establish that Skyborne or Zephras Isle is enabled in the beta.

SIGNUP / DATES / SCOPE

Signup, dates, and test scope

The planned test window is clearer than the list of content inside it.

Support says signup does not guarantee beta access and that its form is available only while testing is active or shortly before it starts. The linked signup destination resolved to the Midnight page during the September 12 check. No working Forever signup form was verified, so this page does not present that link as a live application.

The current Blizzard text gives the beta window as September 17 through October 21, 2026, PST. The roadmap image gives September 17 through October 22 and says content and timing can change. Both are first-party statements. The checked sources do not give a precise beta start hour, shutdown hour, phase schedule, wave schedule, alpha date, or open and closed test labels. Blizzard has not labeled this an open beta in the checked material.

The roadmap's only specific beta-content statement found in the checked first-party material is “PLAY UP TO LEVEL 30”. That is a planned test cap, not a live result and not a promise that every level-30 activity will be available. Blizzard has not published a beta list of zones, quests, classes, races, dungeons, raids, PvP systems, professions, or Camping features.

The broader Forever announcements are product context, not a beta inventory:

Product context versus beta confirmation
Announced materialWhat the source establishesBeta status
Skyborne from Zephras Isle, Dwarf Shaman, Forsaken Paladin, updated class design, honor and profession revamps, the Camping system, over 1,000 new quests, new or expanded zones, new dungeons, and max-level raidsThese are named as Forever product content on the Battle.net page.Not announced
Three new zones, nine new dungeons, and two new raidsThese counts appear in Blizzard's Opening Ceremony recap.Planned
New dungeons, 10-player and 20-player raids, new or expanded zones, race and class combinations, and 1,000+ questsThese are launch feature bullets in the official @Warcraft feature post.Planned
Barrow Deeps, Hyjal Summit, and Onyxia's LairThe roadmap plans a December 9 raid unlock with 10-, 20-, and 40-player entries.Planned
Hardcore, Spring 2027, and Summer 2027 updatesThe roadmap places these in later milestone cards and says timing can change.Planned

LAUNCH / BENEFITS

Launch access and separate benefits

Beta entitlement, launch access, Game Time, and friend codes are separate rules.

The Battle.net product page says a WoW Subscription or Game Time grants access to Forever starting November 4. Epic and Collection include 30 days of Game Time, which Blizzard's Game Time support article says activate at launch under the listed edition rules. Play after that included period requires a subscription or additional Game Time. Blizzard does not say whether an active subscription is required for an account that already has a separate beta entitlement. Treat launch access and beta access as separate rules.

Launch benefits
BenefitRuleStatus
WoW Subscription or Game TimeGrants Forever access at launch on November 4.Confirmed
Invite-A-Friend codeCodes begin going to the registered email on October 20. They grant Forever access from November 4 through November 11, not beta access. Heroic provides one code; Epic and Collection provide three.Confirmed
Early Name ReservationOctober 27 through November 3 for up to three characters on the purchasing WoW account. Names are first come, first served, with no guarantee that a desired name is available.Planned

The Invite-A-Friend support article says these codes do not grant Skyborne, the Zephras Isle starting experience, Game Time, or another WoW version. An account that already bought a Forever upgrade cannot redeem one. Physical Collector's Edition codes also provide three codes under the listed rules, while retail Collector's Editions in Korea, Australia, and New Zealand are excluded from this code program.

Early Name Reservation is launch preparation. It is not a character transfer and does not answer whether beta characters persist.

INSTALL / TROUBLESHOOTING

Install the beta client

The current supported path runs through the Battle.net desktop app once testing begins.

For an account with beta access, Blizzard Support says the WoW Forever beta download becomes available for installation in the Battle.net App once testing begins. If it is missing, Support says to close and restart the app and confirm that the correct Battle.net account is signed in. The client may be offline at any time, and access can be revoked for Code of Conduct violations.

Support does not publish a beta preload date, pre-download window, build number, download size, standalone installer, or a more detailed menu path. Reports of an early download, a missing client, or a changed logo are community reports and do not establish a Blizzard deadline.

PLATFORMS / REGIONS / HARDWARE

Platforms, regions, and hardware

Availability details are published at product level; beta timing and entitlement may still differ.

The Battle.net product details list Windows and Mac. They list Americas & Oceania, Europe, Korea, and Taiwan as available regions and list these languages: English (US), Español (AL), Português (BR), English (EU), Deutsch, Español (EU), Français, Русский, 한국어, 繁體中文. The page does not state that every listed region or language has the same beta timing or access treatment.

The product page does not state console, Linux, mobile, cloud, or cross-play support. Those questions are Not announced in the checked sources, not a confirmed universal exclusion.

Blizzard publishes Windows and Mac minimum and recommended specifications and warns that they may change as programming changes. Use the WoW Forever system requirements reference for the full CPU, GPU, memory, storage, input, and resolution tables. The product page also requires an internet connection, a Battle.net account, and the Battle.net desktop app. Meeting those requirements does not grant beta access.

POLICIES / SERVERS

Characters, servers, and testing policies

The boundaries below are intentionally explicit so general WoW policies are not mistaken for Forever rules.

NOT ANNOUNCED IN THE CHECKED FOREVER SOURCES

  • Whether beta characters are wiped, retained, copied, or converted at launch.
  • Character migration or transfer from Modern WoW, WoW Classic Era, WoW Classic Progression, another Forever realm, or another account.
  • Movement between realms, regions, factions, versions, or Battle.net accounts.
  • Carryover of achievements, collections, gold, mounts, pets, professions, titles, or other progression.
  • Beta character slots, realm limits, realm names, datacenters, queues, population limits, regional routing, or cross-region play.
  • A Forever-specific NDA, streaming permission, recording policy, embargo, spoiler rule, feedback form, in-client report path, or feedback schedule.

The general Character Transfer Information and Restrictions article is not a Forever rule. Its product tabs name World of Warcraft, WoW Classic Era, and WoW Classic Progression. Forever is not named there.

Reported by the official WarcraftTeam account via Reddit: “It will be fresh servers.” The reply was published September 12 at 19:35:45Z and checked in the community lane at 21:28:05Z. It confirms only the fresh-server statement. It does not answer beta wipes, carryover, transfers, realm operations, or beta scope.

The roadmap says features will evolve from player feedback. That statement does not identify a formal feedback channel. Blizzard Support points to the official beta forums for schedule updates and identifies that channel as English-only.

COMMUNITY WATCH

Community questions and reports

Community links document questions or reactions, not game rules. Each was checked on September 12, 2026; original links and retrieval times remain in the source metadata.

Community context
DiscussionWhat it showsStatus
Paid-edition beta discussionQuestions about paid beta access, an active-subscription requirement, Invite-A-Friend codes, physical CE delivery, and carryover. Replies conflict.Reported
Beta opt-in reminderQuestions about signup, subscription requirements, and how invites are selected.Reported
Physical Collector's Edition questionA question about whether a physical edition needs a separate digital Collection purchase. Comments add no authoritative entitlement.Reported
Client download discussionAnecdotal concern about an early download deadline and inconsistent client or logo behavior.Unverified
WoW Forever community questionsQuestions about Mac, console, transmog, carryover, the level cap, PvP, and other systems. The thread is not a direct developer feedback channel.Reported
Base-game and monetization discussion and Heroic-edition discussionReaction to subscription access, paid beta access, Early Name Reservation, Skyborne, and future monetization.Reported
Beta date discussionRepeats September 17 to October 22 with uncertainty.Unverified

NEXT CHECKPOINTS

Official information still scheduled

These events are information checkpoints, not proof of a beta roster or policy.

The Blizzard News schedule lists World of Warcraft: Deep Dive for Sunday, September 13 at 10:00 a.m. PDT. Blizzard's Forever announcement uses the longer title World of Warcraft: Forever — Deep Dive for the same scheduled event.

The Forever announcement also schedules a live developer Q&A for September 17 at 10:00 a.m. PDT on the official Warcraft Twitch and YouTube channels, with a VOD afterward. These are information events. They do not publish a beta roster, wipe rule, transfer rule, NDA, or formal feedback path.

FAQ

WoW Forever beta FAQ

Short answers for the questions most likely to send players toward outdated or unsupported information.

What is the WoW Forever beta start date?

Blizzard Support and the pre-purchase text schedule the beta to start on September 17, 2026, but neither publishes an opening hour. Their current text gives an end date of October 21, 2026, PST. The official roadmap image instead says October 22, so the beta dates still contain an unresolved first-party conflict.

How do I get a WoW Forever beta key or access code?

The guaranteed access routes are the Skyborne Epic Pack, Warcraft Forever Collection, and physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition. Digital purchases flag the purchasing account automatically. A physical Collector's Edition uses an emailed redeemable code. Optional signup does not guarantee access, and a working Forever signup form was not verified in the linked destination.

Is there a WoW Forever beta signup or open beta?

Blizzard Support documents an optional signup route for when testing is active or about to start, but it does not promise an invitation. The checked sources do not call the test an open beta, publish an alpha date, or provide a phase or wave schedule. The linked destination resolved to the Midnight page during the September 12 check, so treat it as an unverified route rather than a live Forever application.

Where do I download the WoW Forever beta client?

If the account has access, Blizzard says the beta client appears in the Battle.net App once testing begins. Restart the app and check that the correct Battle.net account is signed in if the client is missing. Blizzard has not published a beta preload date, build number, download size, or standalone installer.

What are the WoW Forever system requirements?

Blizzard publishes separate Windows and Mac minimum and recommended specifications. Read the WoW Forever system requirements reference for the full tables and the ambiguity in the Mac video rows. Hardware readiness and beta entitlement are separate checks.

Will WoW Forever beta characters be wiped or transferred?

No Forever-specific wipe, retention, character-copy, migration, or transfer policy was located in the checked sources. An official WarcraftTeam reply reported through Reddit describes the servers as fresh. That statement does not establish what happens to beta characters or progression.

EDITORIAL METHOD

Status labels

The labels make the boundary between evidence, planning, and uncertainty visible on every reference page.

Confirmed

Directly stated by a checked first-party source.

Planned

A future roadmap item or scheduled event. Planned does not mean live.

Reported

A source records a question, reaction, or attributed statement. It is not automatically a game rule.

Unverified

No first-party confirmation was located for the report or observation.

Not announced

The bounded source check did not locate a Forever-specific policy. It is not proof that Blizzard will never publish one.

Conflict

Checked sources disagree. Both versions stay visible until Blizzard resolves the difference.

SOURCE TRAIL

Where these notes came from

Official material is listed first, followed by checked destinations and clearly separated community context. A source link is a trail back to the evidence, not an endorsement of every claim on that page.

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft Alpha or Beta Access

Support's guaranteed access routes, signup rule, and physical-code handling.

Open source

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft official beta forums

The English-language forum channel Blizzard identifies for schedule updates.

Open source

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft: Forever — Battle.net Shop

Current edition, launch access, product benefits, and platform details.

Open source

OFFICIAL

Pre-Purchase World of Warcraft: Forever

The first-party beta window and purchase context checked for this guide.

Open source

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft: Forever roadmap post

The level-30 test cap, alternate end date, name reservation, and future milestones.

Open source

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft: Forever System Requirements

Windows and Mac minimum and recommended requirements.

Open source

OFFICIAL

Battle.net App download

The official desktop app path referenced for beta installation.

Open source

CHECKED DESTINATION

Forever signup destination

The route linked by Support resolved to the Midnight page during the check; it is not presented as a live Forever form.

Open source

OFFICIAL

Invite-A-Friend Codes

Launch-only code rules, edition quantities, and exclusions.

Open source

OFFICIAL

30-Day Game Time From World of Warcraft: Forever

How included Game Time activates under the listed edition rules.

Open source

OFFICIAL

Everything Announced at BlizzCon 2026 Opening Ceremony

The product-context counts for zones, dungeons, and raids.

Open source

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft at BlizzCon 2026: Discover What's Next

Deep Dive scheduling and the wider feature context.

Open source

OFFICIAL

World of Warcraft: Forever feature post

Launch feature bullets, including dungeons, raids, and quests.

Open source

OFFICIAL

Tune in to World of Warcraft at BlizzCon 2026

The scheduled Deep Dive and developer Q&A times.

Open source

OFFICIAL

Character Transfer Information and Restrictions

A general policy checked to make clear that Forever is not named there.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

Paid-edition beta access discussion

Questions about paid access, subscriptions, codes, and carryover.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

WoW Forever community questions

Questions about platforms, systems, the cap, and carryover—not a developer channel.

Open source

ATTRIBUTED REPORT

WarcraftTeam fresh-server reply

The reported statement that Forever will use fresh servers.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

WoW Forever client download discussion

An unverified report about download and logo behavior.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

Beta opt-in reminder discussion

Questions about signup, subscriptions, and invite selection.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

Physical Collector's Edition access question

A question about physical and digital entitlements without an authoritative answer in comments.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

WoW Forever base-game and monetization discussion

Reported reaction to launch access, editions, and future monetization.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

WoW Forever Heroic edition discussion

Reported reaction to the Heroic edition and launch access.

Open source

COMMUNITY CONTEXT

WoW Forever beta date discussion

An unverified repetition of the September 17 to October 22 window.

Open source